Harber’s History: Rutherford coverlets preserved in time

Susan, Harber, The Daily News Journal, February 19, 2017 Editor’s note: This is the first story in a two-part series. Coverlets in Rutherford County of the 19th century were an artistic expression of high expertise. These exquisite gems are preserved over time from both Peru and Egyptian deserts in the…

Continue reading

Harber’s History: Long Hunter Park a premium asset

Susan Harber, The Daily News Journal, February 5, 2017 Long Hunter State Park includes 2,600 pristine acres along 30 miles of shoreline in both Davidson and Rutherford counties. The area became a state park in 1974 and has four segments, including Couchville (center), Baker’s Grove (north), Bryant Grove (south) and…

Continue reading

Harber’s History: Marymont rose to great heights

Susan Harber, The Daily News Journal, January 21, 2017 Marymont, named for Mary Rucker Donnell on Rucker Lane, has shined as a rare historical jewel in our county for 155 years. The home of Southern Colonial architecture was listed with the National Register of Historic Places in 1973. In 1795,…

Continue reading

Harber’s History: Honor, integrity key for Yoakum

Susan Harber, The Daily News Journal, January 7, 2017 Henderson King Yoakum lived the fullest life in 46 years of any individual in Rutherford County history. He was a Murfreesboro mayor for six years and also shaped the Republic of Texas into the free, existing state of today. Dr. Homer…

Continue reading

Harber’s History: McFadden’s Ford was a Civil War travesty

Susan Harber, The Daily News Journal, December 11, 2016 Every Rutherford County citizen is familiar with McFadden’s Ford, a shallow Stones River crossing in Murfreesboro that was the site of a crucial Civil War combat.  Yet, it is intriguing to revisit this story and seek new discovery.  Jim Lewis, longtime…

Continue reading