Key dates of the Civil War

As published in the Murfreesboro Post, October 15, 2006

By Mike West, Managing Editor

Nov. 6, 1860: Lincoln is elected president

Dec. 20, 1860: South Carolina secedes.

Feb. 9, 1861: Confederate government is formed.

March 4, 1861: Lincoln is sworn in as president

March 6: Confederate Congress authoritizes establishment of an army.

April 12, 1861: The Civil War begins with the attack on Fort Sumter.

April 15, 1861: Lincoln calls for 75,000 troops. Robert E. Lee is offered command and refuses.

April 18, 1861: 1860 Presidential candidate John Bell calls on Tennesseans to maintain an armed neutrality.

April 23, 1861: John Bell announces he will stand by the Southern states.

May 6, 1861: Tennessee General Assembly votes to put a motion to secede from the Union before voters.

May 1861: Joseph B. Palmer forms a regiment of troops from Rutherford County. By May 24th, the unit is sworn into service at Camp Trousdale.

June 8, 1861: Secession referendum passes 104, 471 to 47.183.

Sept. 18, 1861: The 18th Tennessee Infantry is ordered to active duty at Bowling Green, Ky.

Comments are closed.